I’ve Written So Much, But Never For Myself

BlogPostCat

It’s been approximately half a month since the beginning of the Blogging 101 course, and it’s been one of the best, if not THE best online course I’ve ever taken. The community plays a great part, too – Almost everyone I’ve seen in the Commons (something like a forum for all course members) has been nothing short of friendly or helpful, and it’s been great!

After studying for a couple of hours, I’ve decided to take a break and wait for my head to stop reeling from my poor attempts at solving some differential equation questions. What better way to do this than to complete a Blogging 101 assignment?

Let’s see, hmm. “Publish a post based on your own, personalized take on a Daily Prompt.” I’ll see if I can do this one fast.

Time to get away from all the pens and papers –

And then I see a Daily Prompt titled ‘Pens and Pencils’.

So the first thought that pops into my head is “ARE YOU SERIOUS I JUST PUT DOWN MY PEN A MINUTE AGO AND – “, and then I see the description of the prompt being ‘When was the last time you wrote something substantive — a letter, a story, a journal entry, etc. — by hand? Could you ever imagine returning to a pre-keyboard era?’

My next thought – “Oh. Substantive.”

I’m hit with a sudden realisation that I’ve written so much over these years in school. Finished using all the pages of so many foolscap pads. Filled up notebooks with scribbles and graphs. Drained the ink out of boxes of pens. Completed essays, lab reports, worksheets, tutorials, and exam papers.

Yet nothing was truly written for myself. Doodles and sketches? I’ve plenty of them. But not my own written works. No journal entries, as I didn’t have a habit of writing down my thoughts and the events I’ve gone through onto a physical book. No stories either, for my imagination was never great enough to create my own characters and locations. Just creating names for people and places is hard enough.

Could it be because I was afraid of trying? Nervous that other people would see the words I’ve written and laugh about it? Or perhaps worse still, that nobody would even bother about what I wrote? Maybe it’s a combination of all these.

Or that I’m just lazy. That’s a valid reason.

Either way, it would be a pity if the end of the world were to happen and there were no written records of my memories whatsoever. Unless the Internet managed to survive, that is.

I guess that when I’m done with all the lecture notes and worksheets, I’ll begin to write my own stories that people would remember. Or take note of. Or notice. Hey, I’ll be happy if anyone’s even read this far!

Time to get back to the pen and papers. I have to get through university before thinking any further about my life! 😀

A response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Pens and Pencils.”

3 thoughts on “I’ve Written So Much, But Never For Myself

  1. I feel the same way! About writing and being mocked. Or having myself judged… and if i am lazy. That’s why this blog exists, one of the many other reasons

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

